After wading through some of the work I’ve done in the graphic design program at FVCC, I have come to the conclusion that I don’t have an over abundance of pieces I would consider for my portfolio. The quality of the work is good, but for the most part they were projects designed as much to learn the programs as to learn designing, and looking back over them I begin to wonder if their quality is really portfolio-worthy. I also wonder about copyright infringement with some pieces. Many assignments were created utilizing images taken from the web, with no user agreements made. So I think more wholly original work needs to be included in my portfolio.

Some logo work would be beneficial to my portfolio, even if it’s fictitious. I’ve often thought picking a random word and making a logo for it might be a fun and effective portfolio piece. Heck, I could even expand it to an identity package.

Staying along those lines, some sort of identity package work should definitely be included, whether it’s the aforementioned fictitious package, or examples from my own identity package.

Some web design examples would also be of great benefit.

One thing that has always intrigued me is billboard design. I’ve always been curious about how to photograph for a billboard, whether there’s a specific megapixel level one would need (and if my current 16 megapixel capabilities are adequate), or if simply boosting the image resolution in Photoshop would allow for a clear image of such dimensions. I wouldn’t mind taking a crack at that sometime.

I have a lot of work to do to ready my portfolio. It’s a good thing graphic design is so much fun.

